Call for 2016 Markopoulos Award Nominations

design:retail would like to ask for your nominations for the 2016 Markopoulos Award, one of the industry’s most prestigious honors recognizing outstanding achievement and contributions in visual merchandising and store design. Each year, design:retail presents one industry professional with the Markopoulos Award, an honor named after the late visual merchandising legend Andrew Markopoulos. The following criteria should be used as a guide in nominating a candidate:

• Lifetime achievement, overall accomplishments, awards and recognitions
• Providing innovation and inspiration for the industry and others
• Contributing to the success of a particular retailer or company
• Nurturing/mentoring the next generation
• Contribution to, participation in and support of the retail design and visual industries
• Admirable role model: professionally, personally

Send nominee’s name, title, company and contact information, along with an explanation of how this person exemplifies the spirit of the award, to design:retail Executive Editor Alison Embrey Medina at Deadline for nominations is Feb. 3, 2016.

This year’s Markopoulos Award winner will be recognized during the design:retail Honors event, to be held May 16 in New York. The debut event also will feature an awards ceremony for design:retail’s 40 Under 40 winners, bringing together the industry’s most promising future leaders alongside the highest regarded visionaries.

About the award
design:retail (formerly DDI) established the Markopoulos Award in 1996 to recognize outstanding achievement and contributions in visual merchandising and store design. It is named in honor of the late Andrew Markopoulos, former senior vice president of visual merchandising and store design for Dayton Hudson, whose vision and principles helped establish the artistry and prestige for this profession. Nominations for the award are open to anyone in the industry, and the winning candidate is determined by a vote of the prior winners. Past winners include: Ignaz Gorischek, Tony Mancini, Judy Bell, James Mansour, Linda Fargo, Chuck Luckenbill, Simon Doonan, Christine Belich, James Damian, Michael Cape, Jack Hruska, Alfredo Paredes, Ralph Pucci, Tom Beebe, Denny Gerdeman, Eric Feigenbaum, Joseph Feczko, Harry Cunningham and Ken Smart.




More News

2017 Best Visual Merchandising Programs
October 5, 2017
Saks Fifth Avenue wins the Best Visual Merchandising Program at design:retail's Portfolio Awards
Full Story

2017 Design Firms of the Year
September 28, 2017
CallisonRTKL wins Design Firm of the Year

Full Story

Retail Design Influencers
September 27, 2017
Congratulations to the 2017 Retail Design Influencers.

Full Story